Phases of the Shogi game.

a Shogi game consists of 3 phases, the opening, the middle game, and the end game.

the Opening

it’s like preparation time to go to war. both sides get Kings castled and develop their pieces to commit to which opening strategies they play before launching an attack.

the Middle game

it’s like a full-scale battle. roughly, when there are piece crashes, or a side sacrifice a Pawn to start attacking, we enter a middle game. there are many trades. you want to maneuver pieces and try to weaken your opponent’s defense.

the End game

the last battle. you try to destroy your opponent’s castle and start calculating to checkmate the enemy King.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *